Ahsan Raza from Pakistan is one of the match refrees for the 2023 ICC World Cup. 20 match officials were named by the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Friday for the league phase of the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup in India.

Ahsan Raza, a member of the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires from Pakistan, is one of the sixteen officials on the list.

Chris Brown, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Adrian Holdstock, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nitin Menon, Paul Reiffel, Sharfuddoula Ibne Shaid, Rod Tucker, Alex Wharf, Joel Wilson, and Paul Wilson are among the other officials.

Only Aleem Dar is absent from the experienced list; he resigned from the Elite Panel in March this year. The experienced list contains three of the four umpires that officiated the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 final at Lord’s: Dharmasena, Erasmus, and Tucker.

Former international cricket players Jeff Crowe, Andy Pycroft, Richie Richardson, and Javagal Srinath are all members of the ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees. In due course, the officials for the tournament’s semifinals and championship game will be announced.

“You need strong performers at every level to pull off an event of this scale. This World Cup will benefit greatly from the vast abilities, expertise, and world-class standards that the ICC Elite panel of umpires, referees, and emerging group of umpires involved will bring. We are thrilled with the team we have put together for this competition,” said Wasim Khan, ICC General Manager. 

With the assistance of our Member Boards, the ICC Cricket Operations department takes great delight and care in running a rigorous and meritocratic selection process. High-quality match officials around the game continue to grow and emerge thanks to our competitive pathway system. We are happy that four ICC Emerging Umpire Panel members have won the right to participate in this showcase event, and we wish them and all the other match officials involved the best of luck in the competition,” he continued.

From October 5 to November 19, 10 teams will compete for the coveted trophy at 10 different locations, with the tournament’s opening game and championship game taking place at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *