Australia selects a smaller team for the Boxing Day Test against Pakistan

Australia selects a smaller team for the Boxing Day Test against Pakistan. . A change was made to the Cricket Australia (CA) team on Monday in preparation for the Boxing Day Test against Pakistan, which is set to start in Melbourne on December 26.

Lance Morris, a right-arm bowler, will play for the Perth Scorchers on Boxing Day after being left out of Australia’s selection for the Test match against Pakistan.

The Australian selectors reduced the 14-player roster they had in Perth to 13 for Melbourne by leaving out him. That was the only change they made.

Notably, Australia’s first-choice pacers, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and Pat Cummins, performed effectively against Pakistan in the first Test match, troubling the visiting team’s batting lineup and helping Australia to a decisive 360-run victory.

Their strong showing in the Perth Test raises the probability that captain Cummins will select the same starting eleven for the subsequent Test.

Regarding the starting lineup for the Boxing Day Test, Cummins stated, “I dare say it will be a pretty similar line-up at this stage because I don’t think injuries are going to be an issue.”

“After (the victory in Perth), I believe all of the bowlers are pretty fresh.” It’s pretty much the perfect way to kick off the summer.

Also Read

After the Perth Test catastrophe, Pakistan was fined for their slow over-rate

Marnus Labuschagne is cleared to play against Pakistan on Boxing Day following a scare with an injury

Pakistan’s batting order, which was supposed to chase 450, produced a meagre 89 in just 30.2 overs on Sunday, giving Australia a quick lead in the three-match series.

Pakistan will face Victoria in a two-day practice match at the Junction Oval beginning on Friday, providing them with an opportunity to hone their skills in advance of the Boxing Day Test.

Marcus Harris, the opening batsman, will have a prime chance to make a case for the job of David Warner, who has stated that he will retire from Test cricket following the current series against Pakistan, during the two-day practice match.

Australia squad: Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Steve Smith, Mitch Starc, David Warner.

Pakistan squad: Shan Masood (c), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *