Big Shock for Pakistani Cricket: Zaka Ashraf, The PCB Chairman, Resigns, Saying It's "Not Possible To Work"

Big Shock for Pakistani Cricket: Zaka Ashraf, The PCB Chairman, Resigns, Saying It’s “Not Possible To Work”. Zaka Ashraf has resigned as head of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), dealing a severe blow to the organization. Following his Friday chairing of a managing committee meeting in Lahore, Ashraf declared his intention to resign.

In June of last year, he succeeded Najam Sethi as PCB chief. He also expressed gratitude to PCB members and Patron Caretaker Prime Minister Anwaar-ul-Haq Kakar for their assistance during his brief term in office during the committee meeting, which Ashraf chaired.

“At the conclusion of the meeting, Mr. Zaka Ashraf declared his intention to submit his resignation to the honorable Patron Caretaker Prime Minister Anwaar-ul-Haq Kakar, both as chairman and member of the MC. Mr. Zaka Ashraf thanked the Honorable Patron PCB for the confidence in his final words.

Also Read

Zaka Ashraf resigns as the head of PCB Management Comittee

Mickey Arthur and Other Coaches Step Down from Their Individual Positions

In the meantime, Ashraf’s statement, which was featured in a story by Geo News, revealed the cause behind the former chairman’s decision to step down.

According to the news outlet, Ashraf Chief stated, “I was working for the betterment of cricket but it is not possible for us to work in this way.”

“Now it is up to Prime Minister [Anwaar-ul-Haq Kakar], whomever he nominates [will take my place],” he stated.

Zaka Ashraf’s resignation was announced one day after Andrew Puttick, Mickey Arthur, and Grant Bradburn resigned from their respective roles at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Lahore.

Notably, since Zaka Ashraf’s appointment last year, Pakistan has not won any significant titles. The team was eliminated from the league rounds of the ODI World Cup in India after failing to make it to the Asia Cup final.

Babar Azam resigned as captain after the World Cup fiasco, and Shan Masood (Test) and Shaheen Afridi (T20I) took over. The Pakistan team director is none other than former captain Muhammad Hafeez.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *