Final Positions secured as Super League concludes

Let’s take a look at final positions secured as super league concludes.

The inaugural ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League has concluded with New Zealand being named the overall champion after Bangladesh’s close victory over Ireland in Chelmsford on Sunday.

The top eight teams at the end of the cycle managed to secure their spots at this year’s 50-over showcase. The Super League served as the primary qualifying competition for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup this year.

With 16 victories from 24 games, New Zealand secured their spot and took first position in the standings. England, the defending World Cup champions, ended in second place with 15 victories from the same number of games.

Due to their 2-0 series victory over Ireland, Bangladesh moved up to third place and just ahead of fourth-placed India. Their four-run success over the European team on Sunday marked the end of the Super League cycle.

Bangladesh’s captain Tamim Iqbal led the team in scoring with a classy 69 at the top of the order, and pacer Mustafizur Rahman’s four-wicket haul prevented Ireland from winning and tying the series.

Before the match on Sunday, Ireland already knew their fate in the World Cup. Andy Balbirnie’s team had finished outside the top eight spots in the Super League standings, forcing them to compete in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe in June and July in an effort to qualify for this year’s main event.

On the strength of the Super League, Pakistan (fifth), Australia (sixth), Afghanistan (seventh), and South Africa (eighth) were the other teams to qualify directly for the World Cup, leaving Ireland and the West Indies as the only teams competing in the Qualifier tournament, which gets underway next month.

With Nepal, Oman, and Scotland having qualified through play in ICC Cricket World Cup league 2, and the United States and UAE having qualified through the Cricket World Cup qualifier play off, the five bottom teams from the Super League will now compete against five other nations at the Qualifier.

On June 18, the qualifying round will begin in Zimbabwae, with the top two teams earning the final two spots in this year’s World Cup.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *