Hafeez criticizes "inconsistent umpiring, technology curse" following disputed Rizwan wicket in the second Test between Australia and Pakistan

Hafeez criticizes “inconsistent umpiring, technology curse” following disputed Rizwan wicket in the second Test between Australia and Pakistan. Chasing 317 to win a Boxing Day Test match against Australia at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Friday, Hafeez was furious about a call that, in his opinion, changed the game’s momentum and gave Australia a series win. Pakistan was still in the hunt at 110 for three before making 219 for five thanks to a stand of 57 runs between Mohammad Rizwan and Salman Agha. 

However, Australian skipper Pat Cummins controversially dismissed the wicketkeeper-batter, Salman Agha, at 110 for three, which led to a collapse in the lower order. Pakistan lost the series after being folded for 237, and Cummins, who claimed five wickets in the first innings, ended the second innings with 5 for 49.

Mohammad Hafeez, the director of the Pakistan squad, expressed his displeasure with the umpiring and the team’s reliance on technology after the match, despite being pleased with his country’s performance.

Also Read

Pat Cummins’ brilliant rejoinder to Hafeez’s “Pakistan played better cricket” comment was, “Doesn’t really matter, does it?”

Pakistan seeks an Australia Test victory as Cummins scores two

“As a team, we made some mistakes,” he stated. That will do for us. We’ll take care of those matters. However, at the same time, I think that inconsistent umpiring and the curse of technology have actually given us the wrong outcome. Thus, it seems to me that these are the areas that require appropriate attention.”

Hafeez attacked the match officials, furiously believing that the mistake had reversed the game’s momentum and given Australia a series triumph at the MCG.

“I support technology if it benefits me, but if it casts doubt or brings a curse into the game, then it shouldn’t be tolerated by anyone,” Hafeez stated. “We play this lovely game of cricket based on the fundamentals of the game, but occasionally technological advancements bring about conclusions that, very obviously, we humans don’t understand. When the ball strikes the stumps during a DRS, it is always out. Why does the umpire make a call? That has never made sense to me.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *