ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 Winner

Let’s take a look at ICC Cricket World Cup Wiinner.

The ninth edition of the One Day International (ODI) cricket competition, the 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup, was held in the West Indies from March 13 to April 28, 2007. Despite a pitch that was two teams larger than the 2003 World Cup, there were three less matches played overall.

The 16 competing teams were first split into four groups, with the top two teams from each group advancing to a “Super 8” format. From there, Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and South Africa advanced to the World Cup finals, where Australia defeated Sri Lanka to win the tournament for the third time in a row and a record-tying fourth time overall. 

Australia’s streak of 29 World Cup games without a loss, which began on May 23, 1999, during the 1999 World Cup’s group stage, was extended by their unblemished record in the competition. Pre-tournament favourites Pakistan and India failed to advance past the group stage, but Bangladesh, the second-lowest ranked ICC Full Member at the time, won the event.

The day after Pakistan was eliminated, Bob Woolmer, the team’s coach, passed away. Police declared the death to be suspicious the next day and demanded a thorough investigation. An unresolved verdict was delivered eight months later.

Hosting choice

The West Indies won the World Cup thanks to the International Cricket Council’s rotational system. Despite the West Indies cricket team having been the second-most successful team in previous World Cups, this is the first time the ICC Cricket World Cup has been contested in the Caribbean.

The American delegation made a strong case for matches to be held at its newly constructed cricket stadium in Lauderhill, Florida, but the International Cricket Council decided to give all matches to Caribbean nations. Bermuda, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Jamaica’s second offer were also turned down.

The World Cup tournament will be held in eight different locations in the West Indies. With the exception of St. Lucia, Jamaica, and Barbados (which hosted the championship match), each host nation held six matches.

For “on-the-pitch” expenses, the Jamaican government shelled out 81 million dollars.[6] This included using a loan from China to renovate Sabina Park and build the new multi-use building in Trelawny. More than US$100 million, or JM$7 billion, was allocated for “off-the-pitch” costs, bringing the total to date.

This resulted in an estimate of US$46 million for Sabina Park’s reconstruction costs and US$35 million for Trelawny Stadium. At least US$301 million was spent on stadium construction overall.


All 16 teams that currently possessed ODI status made up the field of 16, the largest ever for the Cricket World Cup. This featured the ten full members of the ICC, who are all eligible for Test matches and ongoing ODIs. 

Kenya (which held ODI status until 2009) and five other countries (previously three) that qualified via the 2005 ICC Trophy were among the other six (associate) ODI nations, obtaining ODI status till 2009 in the process. These countries featured Scotland, who took home the ICC Trophy, Canada, the Netherlands, and Ireland and Bermuda, who were participating in their first World Cup.


By February 13th, 2007, the 16 teams had to announce their final lineups. The ICC Technical Committee had the ability to permit changes after this date if they were required, like when a player was hurt.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *