ICC Cricket World Cup 1979 Winner

West Indies, the winner of the ICC Cricket World Cup 1979. One of the most dangerous teams of the late 70s played their second consective final against England. The second Cricket World Cup took place in 1979, and it was formally known as the Prudential Cup ’79. The International Cricket Conference organised it, and it took place from June 9 to June 23 in England.

The sole difference in this year’s competition was that Canada qualified alongside Sri Lanka in the tournament qualifier. The tournament was once again sponsored by the Prudential Assurance Company and included eight teams. The format stayed the same, with two teams moving on from each group and the final taking place at Lord’s once more.

The 1979 tournament saw the first qualifiers in a World Cup. The 1979 ICC Trophy was held during late May and early June at various grounds in the English Midlands, with the two finalists qualifying for the World Cup where they joined the six Test nations who qualified automatically.Sri Lanka and Canada qualified after defeating Denmark and Bermuda respectively in the semi-finals.

The West Indies won Group B ahead of New Zealand, and England qualified from Group A along with Pakistan, who made their semi-final debut.

 Following victories against Pakistan and New Zealand in their respective semifinal matches, the West Indies and England faced off in the championship match at Lord’s, with the West Indies retaining their crown from four years prior with a 92 run triumph. With 253 runs from four games, West Indian batsman Gordon Greenidge finished the competition as the best run scorer. Mike Hendrick, an English player, finished as the top wicket-taker with ten dismissals.


The tournament’s eight teams were divided into two groups of four teams each, and each team played the other teams in its group once in a round-robin format. In a single-elimination event, the top two teams from each group proceed to the semifinals.


The first World Cup qualifiers were place in 1979. The 1979 ICC Trophy was played in late May and early June at several venues in the English Midlands. The two winners advanced to the World Cup, joining the six Test-playing teams that had already qualified. After winning their respective semi-final matches against Denmark and Bermuda, Sri Lanka and Canada qualified.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *