World Cup 1983 Winner

Let’s take a look at ICC Cricket World Cup 1983 Winner.

The third iteration of the Cricket World Cup was held in 1983 (formally known as the Prudential Cup ’83). India won it, which took place in England and Wales from June 9 to June 25, 1983. The tournament drew participants from eight nations. 

The semi-finals featured England, India, Pakistan, and the West Indies. Each country faced the other teams in its group twice during the preliminary matches, which were divided into two groups of four teams each. Each group’s top two teams advanced to the semifinals.

The games included 60 overs each innings and were played with red balls and typical white attire. All of them were performed during the day.

At the venerable Lord’s, India overcame West Indies, the two-time defending champions, by 43 runs. In a 60-over contest, Kapil Dev’s squad was dismissed for a pitiful 183 runs in 54.4 overs.

With 38 runs, Kris Srikkanth led all scorers for India. Even Larry Gomes’ harmless off-spin was ineffective against the bowling quintet of Andy Roberts, Malcolm Marshall, Joel Garner, and Michael Holding.

The West Indies batsmen were bowled out for 140 runs, shocking the Indian bowling team. Mohinder Amarnath and Madan Lal each claimed three wickets. With 33 runs, Vivian Richards led the West Indies in scoring.

In the earlier semifinal, the West Indies defeated Pakistan by an eight-wicket margin. However, the final victor India overcame the hosts England by a margin of six wickets. For his all-around effort, Mohinder Amarnath won the player of the game award.

The most talked-about innings of the Prudential World Cup was Kapil Dev’s unbroken 175 against Zimbabwe, which saved India from a dangerous 17/5 to lead them to win.


The eight participating teams were split into two groups of four, with each team playing the other teams in its group twice. In a single-elimination tournament, the top two teams from each group then progressed to the semi-finals. There were no day/night matches; all games were 60 overs per side.


Seven full ICC members, including newly admitted full member Sri Lanka, and Zimbabwe, who qualified by winning the 1982 ICC Trophy, made up the eight teams that made it to the final competition.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *