ICC Cricket World Cup 1987 Winner

Let’s tke a look at ICC Cricket World Cup 1987 Winner.

The fourth Cricket World Cup took place in 1987, and was formally called the Reliance Cup 1987 due to sponsorship. The first such competition outside of England was held in India and Pakistan from 8 October to 8 November 1987. The one-day format remained the same from the eight-team 1983 competition with the exception of the change from 60 to 50 overs per team, which is now the norm for all ODIs.

Australia took home the trophy for the first time after defeating England by seven runs in Kolkata’s Eden Gardens stadium in the second-closest World Cup final ever. The two host countries, India and Pakistan, were both discarded and were unable to advance to the final.


Two groups of four teams each played twice in 50-over matches as part of the competition’s format. Each group’s top two teams go to the semi-finals, where the two winners proceed to the championship game. The teams appeared in conventional white attire and utilised traditional red balls as they would in Test/First Class matches for the final time in the tournament’s history. All games were played during the day.


A further entry spot would be given to the winners of the 1986 ICC Trophy; for the second time, this was Zimbabwe, who defeated the Netherlands to gain the ticket. The ICC ruled that all seven (qualified) countries possessing Test status would automatically qualify for the tournament.

  • Australia
  • England
  • India
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka
  • West Indies
  • Zimbabwae

Australia became the first team to win the Cricket World Cup in a 50-over format in the 1987 final at the Eden Gardens in Calcutta (then Calcutta).

Allan Border took 253/5 from 50 overs and the Australians batted first. Batsman David Boon was Australia’s leading batsman with 75 runs (74).

Mike Veletta blasted a quickfire 45 off 31 balls to get past Australia’s total of 250. Its innings consist of 6/4. England’s Eddie Hemmings picked two wickets. Responding to a modest result, England emerged victorious with captain Mike Getting (41) and Allan Lamb (45) battling it out in the middle.

However, on the back of the wickets of Bill Athy (58) and Get, the lower England batsmen struggled as the hosts were restricted to 246/8 from 50 overs. The magic of collective economy by the Australian bowlers, led by captains Allan Border (2/38) and Steve Waugh (2/37), saw Australia win by 7 runs.

Before the final, eventual champions Australia beat Pakistan by 18 runs in the first semi-final in Lahore. In the other semi-final, England beat India by 35 runs in Mumbai. So we remove both shared hosts.

It is the first time that the Cricket World Cup is being held outside England, co-hosted by India and Pakistan. Eight teams participated in this World Cup and 27 matches were played, including semi-finals and finals.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *