ICC Cricket World Cup 1996 Winner

In a historic moment, Sri Lanka claimed its maiden ICC World Championship title by triumphing over the formidable Australian cricketing side in the Final held in Lahore. Notably, the entire Pakistani crowd rallied behind this emerging champion, elevating the event’s atmosphere to unparalleled heights. Sanath Jayasuriya’s indomitable presence and stellar performance played a pivotal role in securing Sri Lanka’s victory in the 1996 World Cup, etching his name as a key factor in their remarkable journey to cricketing glory.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) organised the sixth Cricket World Cup in 1996, commonly known as the Wills World Cup 1996 after the Wills Navy Cut brand created by the event sponsor ITC. 

Although Sri Lanka served as hosts for the first time, it was the second World Cup that Pakistan and India (who had also hosted the 1987 Cricket World Cup) had co-hosted. At the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, Pakistan, on March 17, 1996, Sri Lanka defeated Australia by seven wickets to win the championship.

Sri Lanka, Pakistan, and India all hosted World Cup games. Sri Lanka held four matches at three venues, while Pakistan hosted 16 matches at six venues. India hosted 17 matches over 17 distinct locations.

Before any games were played, the tournament was beset by controversy because Australia and the West Indies refused to send their teams to Sri Lanka as a result of the Tamil Tigers’ bombing of the Central Bank in Colombo in January 1996. 

In addition to providing the teams with the highest level of security, Sri Lanka questioned the justification for raising security concerns when the International Cricket Council had declared it was secure. The ICC decided that Sri Lanka will receive both games on forfeit after lengthy negotiations. This choice has had an impact on Sri Lanka.

All of the Test-playing nations took part in the competition, including Zimbabwe, which joined the ICC after the last World Cup and now has the ninth Test-status member. The United Arab Emirates, Kenya, and the Netherlands, the three Associate teams (formerly one) to qualify through the 1994 ICC Trophy also played in their first World Cup in 1996. 

The Netherlands dropped each of their five games, including one to the UAE, but Kenya shocked the West Indies in Pune by defeating them.

Full MembersAssociate Members
India United Arab Emirates
New Zealand
South Africa
Sri Lanka
West Indies

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *