ICC Cricket World Cup 2003 Winner

Australia was the winner of the ICC World Cup 2023 South Africa. Under the captaincy of Ricky Ponting, who scored 415 runs. The firey boweling spells of Bret Lee also played an important role in lefting the World Cup trophy.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) hosted the eighth edition of the Cricket World Cup in 2003. From 9 February to 23 March 2003, South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Kenya co-hosted it. The first World Cup to be held in Africa was this one.

14 teams competed in the event, the most in the World Cup’s history at the time, and a total of 54 games were played. The teams were split into two groups, and the top three teams from each group advanced to the Super Sixes stage, in accordance with the structure first used for the 1999 Cricket World Cup.

There were many surprises during the tournament, with England, West Indies, Pakistan, South Africa, and South Africa all losing in the group stage (South Africa missed by one run after misinterpreting the rules of the Duckworth-Lewis system). 

Due to the political upheaval in Zimbabwe, England forfeited their match, which ultimately allowed that team to go to the Super Sixes. Similarly, because of security concerns, New Zealand forfeited their game against Kenya, allowing Kenya the only non-Test playing country to advance to the semi-finals. 

Two days after the competition had begun, Shane Warne, who was at the time one of the top spinners in the game, was humiliatingly dismissed after testing positive for a prohibited substance.

Australia eventually emerged victorious in the tournament, winning all 11 of their games and defeating India in the championship match at Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg. Australia was the only team to win three World Cups, and this was their third. In a pool game against England, Pakistani bowler Shoaib Akhtar also established a world record, becoming the sport’s quickest bowler with a top speed of 161.3 km/h (100.23 mph).

Squads and teams

The 2003 World Cup featured 14 teams, which was the most ever to compete in a Cricket World Cup. Kenya also automatically qualified for the event due to their full One Day International status, along with the other 10 Test-playing teams, including the newly added member Bangladesh. 

The top three teams from the 2001 ICC Trophy in Canada, which acted as a qualifying competition, took up the remaining three positions. These teams were, in order, Namibia, Canada, and the Netherlands, who took home the ICC Trophy. The Netherlands and Canada both made their World Cup debuts this year, while Namibia made its first appearance at the competition.

The same system as the 1999 World Cup was adopted, with the 14 teams being split into two groups of seven, and the top three teams from each group moving on to the Super Sixes stage based on their performance against other group qualifiers. The top four Super Sixes teams advanced to the semi-finals, where the winners played in the championship game.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *