ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Highest Wicket Takers

Let’s take a look at ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Highest Wicket Takers.

1975: Gary Gilmour (Australia) had a record of 2 games, 24 overs, 11 wickets at 5.63, and a BBI score of 6 – 14.

At the 1975 ICC Cricket World Cup, Australia’s left-arm swing bowler Gary Gilmour led the wickets total despite only participating in two games. Gilmour, who had played as the 12th man in all of the warm-up games, was let loose against England in the semifinal, taking six for 14 off of 12 overs. He followed that up with five for 48, but Australia was defeated by the West Indies in the championship game. Sir Viv Richards and Clive Lloyd were among the people Gilmour killed. He is one of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Highest Wicket Takers.

1979: Mike Hendrick (England) had a record of 5 games, 56 overs, 10 wickets at 14.90, and a BBI score of 4-15.

Mike Hendrick took 10 wickets in his lone ICC Cricket World Cup campaign, helping England get to the home final against the West Indies in 1979. The right-arm swing bowler’s finest stats of four for 15 off 12 overs came as England successfully defended a modest score of 165 to beat Pakistan by 14 runs. Hendrick took three wickets against New Zealand in the semifinal, and two against England in their defeat at Lords.

Indian Roger Binny had eight matches, 18 wickets at 18.66, and a BBI of 4-29 in 1983.

At the 1983 ICC Cricket World Cup, Roger Binny was instrumental in India’s victory with the ball. The medium-pace right-arm bowler scored 18 runs. The right arm medium pace bowler got a wicket in each of his eight games and finished with a total of 18 wickets.

Binnny’s best stats of four for 29 came in a decisive victory over Australia when he quickly dispatched Graeme Wood, Graham Yallop, and the opposing captain David Hookes. In the final, he also got rid of West Indies captain Clive Lioyd, and India triumphed by 43 runs.

1987: Australia’s Craig McDermott (in 8 games, 73 overs, and 18 wickets at 18.94, with a BBI of 5-44)

Opening bowler Craig McDermott led the charge in 1987 as Australia won their first ICC Cricket World Cup, claiming 18 wickets. Under batsmen-friendly sub-continental conditions, the right-arm quickie thrived, taking four wickets against India in Chennai and five against Pakistan in the semifinals. In the championship match, Australia defended 253 for five to win by seven runs after McDermott struck out England’s starting pitcher Tim Robinson for a golden duck.

1992: Wasim Akram (Pakistan) has 18 wickets at 18.77 in 89.4 overs over 10 matches with a BBI of 4-32.

Wasim Akram, the Sultan of Swing from Pakistan, was the last participant and the tournament’s top wicket-taker in 1992. Akram, arguably the greatest left-arm bowler in history, amassed 18 wickets in 10 games as Pakistan advanced to the final, defeating England by 22 runs at the MCG. Early in England’s chase, he had Ian Botham caught behind. Later, in the middle overs, he picked off Allan Lamb and Chris Lewis with back-to-back deliveries.

Anil Kumble ( India), 7 matches, 69.4 overs, 15 wickets at 18.73, BBI 3-28 (1996):

At the ICC Cricket world cup 1996, renowned leg spinner Anil Kumble finished with 15 wickets after a steady performance. He took at least one wicket in every game, and against Kenya, Pakistan, and the West Indies on three separate occasions, he took three wickets.

Kumble’s three-wicket performance against opponent Pakistan in India’s quarterfinal victory was crucial in stopping their 288-run chase.

Sri Lankan Chaminda Vaas, 10 games, 88 overs, 23 wickets at 14.39, BBI 6-25:

Chaminda Vaas of Sri Lanka Shined in 2003, taking 23 wickets as his nation advanced to the semi-finals before falling to Australia. With the first three balls of the match against Bangladesh, Vaas claimed a hat trick finishing with stats of six for 25.

He also had multiple wickets on five other occasions, including three for 34 off 10 overs against Australia in the semifinal.

Australia’s Glenn McGrath (11 games, 80.5 overs, 26 wickets at 13.73, BI 3-14):

Australia’s bowlers had a successful tournament at the 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup, passing the 20-wicket mark with Brad Hogg, Shaun Tait, and Glenn McGrath. McGrath, however, stood out with 26 wickets as Australia won it’s third straight World Cup. He recorded a wicket in each game, multiple wickets in nine, and a total of six three-wicket hauls.

Shahid Afridi, 21 wickets at 12.85 with BBI 5-16:

As his country’s captain at the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, Shahid Afridi delivered a big contribution with the ball. In just eight games, the Pakistani leg spinner captured 21 wickets, including two four-wicket and two five-wicket hauls. 

In the first game of the group stage, Afridi made the difference by taking four for 34 to end Sri Lanka’s pursuit and secure an 11-run victory.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *