ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 list of teams

The much awaited ICC World Cup 2023 or ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 is undoubtedly the biggest cricket event of the year. India will host a mega event in October-November. It will be a historic moment for India to exclusively host it for the first time. India has co-hosted three FIFA World Cups in 1987, 1996 and 2011.

Twelve ICC World Cups have been held so far. Eight teams from Great Britain participated for the first time in 1975. West Indies beat Australia in the final to win their first World Cup title. The second and third editions of the tournament were also held in England, with the West Indies and India winning those editions respectively.

Team list of ICC World Cup 2023:

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 list of teams includes:

  • England
  • India
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • South Africa 
  • Pakistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Afghanistan
  • Netherlands
  • Sri Lanka

Co-hosted by England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales and the Netherlands, the competition returns to Europe after a three-year hiatus. Four years later, it was held for the first time in Africa with South Africa, Zimbabwe and Kenya. After hosting the first ICC World Cup in 2007, the West Indies returned to Asia, co-hosted by India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

ICC World Cup 2023 Team List:

A total of 10 teams will participate in the upcoming ICC World Cup 2023. The format of the competition will be similar to 2019. There is a round robin stage, followed by semi-finals and finals. In the round robin format, all 10 teams face each other once.

Teams receive 2 points for a win and 1 point for each participating team for a draw. At the end of the round-robin phase, the top four teams advance to the semifinals. The main qualification route for the 2023 ICC World Cup was the 2020–23 Super League. 

The top 7 teams in the competition automatically qualified for the big event with host country India. The remaining five teams from the Super League standings, the top three teams from the ICC Cricket World Cup League and the top two teams from the 2023 World Cup Qualifying Playoffs will participate in the 2023 World Cup Qualifiers to determine the top two spots action. Qualifiers take place in Zimbabwe in June and July. 

So far, India, Great Britain, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and South Africa have qualified for the ICC World Cup. Meanwhile, Ireland, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Nepal, Oman, Scotland, United Arab Emirates and United States will take part in the second and third place qualifiers.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *