ICC Cricket World Cup Records

ICC Cricket World Cup Records, In international cricket, the ICC Cricket World Cup is the most prestigious tournament. It was first held in 1975, and since then it has been hosted 12 times. Following are some of the ICC Cricket World Cup’s most noteworthy records:

Most Runs: With 2,278 runs from 45 innings, Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar holds the World Cup record for most runs scored.

Highest Individual Score: With 237* from 163 balls against the West Indies in the 4th quarter final of 2015 World Cup at Wellington, Martin Guptill of New Zealand holds the record for the highest individual score.

Most centuries: With six hundred in 44 innings, Sachin Tendulkar also owns the World Cup record for most centuries.

Most Wickets: With 71 wickets from 39 games, Australian Glenn McGrath owns the World Cup record for most wickets.

Best Bowling Figures: Glenn McGrath also holds the record for best bowling figures in the World Cup, with 7/15 against Namibia in the 2003 edition in only 7 overs at Potchefstroom. 

Most Sixes: Shahid Afridi of Pakistan holds the record for most sixes in the World Cup, with 56 sixes from 34 innings. 

Most Catches: Ricky Ponting of Australia holds the record for most catches in the World Cup, with 28 catches from 46 matches. 

Most World Cup Wins: Australia has won the World Cup a record 5 times, in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015. 

Most MOTM Awards: Sachin Tendulkar holds another massive most man of the match awards in ICC ODI WC where hae has got most no of MOTM awards. He has been awarded 9 times most by any batter.

Most Number of Matches Played: Ricky Ponting from Australia has played 46 ODI WC Matches which is most by any player in his span.

Most Number of Consecutive Wins: The lethal Australia hold this record with 25 consecutive wins in WC ODI Format.

Here are the match results for the finals of the ICC Cricket World Cup from 1975 to 2019: 

ICC Cricket World Cup Records

1975: West Indies defeated Australia 

1979: West Indies defeated England 

1983; India defeated West Indies 

1987: Australia defeated England 

1992: Pakistan defeated England 

1996: Sri Lanka defeated Australia 

1999: Australia defeated Pakistan 

2003: Australia defeated India 

2007: Australia defeated Sri Lanka 

2011: India defeated Sri Lanka 

2015: Australia defeated New Zealand 

2019: England defeated New Zealand 

It is worth noting that the format of the tournament has changed over the years, with different numbers of teams and different stages of the tournament. However, these are the final match results for each edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *