India vs Australia ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 India

India vs Australia ICC Crickwt World Cup 2023 India head to head stats are discussed below. The 2023 ICC Men’s One-Day International World Cup will be held in India. Ten teams will compete, and the contest will run from October 5 to November 19. This year’s tournament, which will feature 48 games distributed over 13 venues, will be entirely hosted by India for the first time in the competition’s history. The world’s largest cricket stadium, located in Ahmedabad, will host the championship game. Cricket rivalries and World Cup fervour have both returned.

Given that these two elite ICC teams frequently compete against one another in ICC matches and other events, India vs. Australia is one of the fiercest cricket rivalries in the world. India and Australia last faced off in a World Cup knockout game in the 2003 championship game, which Australia won by defeating India.

Australia and India will square off in the opening World Cup 2023 match

India will reportedly play Australia in the first match of the highlight event at Chennai’s Chepauk Stadium. India’s game against Australia will likely be followed by a match against Pakistan on October 15. The schedule will be released soon by the Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI) following the conclusion of the 2023 Indian Premier League (IPL) season.

There will be 48 total matches amongst the ten nations competing for the World Cup, with Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, Australia, South Africa, Bangladesh, Pakistan, and New Zealand earning direct qualification.

AUS vs IND head to head

The World Cup rivalry between India and Australia began in the 1983 Cricket World Cup when they faced off in two games. At Trent Bridge, there was a group stage match between India and Australia. After winning the toss, Australia scored an astounding 320 runs. The entire Indian squad returned to the changing room for 158 runs in response. India vs Australia ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 India is going to be interesting because both teams will give each other tough times.


Also Read: South Africa vs Bangladesh ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Both teams reconnected a week later to play their second league match. India batted first this time after winning the toss, scoring 247 runs, a very respectable score. India defeated Australia by bowling them out for 129 runs, thanks in large part to the bowling of the pair of Roger Binny and Madan Lal, who also helped India win the match.

Both sides played off against one another twice at the next World Cup. As close as it could have been, the Kangaroos prevailed in the opening game in Madras by a single run. India chose to field first after winning the toss, and they were successful in keeping the Australians scoreboard at 270 runs. 

Indian seemed to easily win the game after a strong start to the chase, but India lost four wickets in the space of nine runs, turning what had appeared to be an easy triumph into a painful defeat for the home team. Australia won the toss and chose to bat first against India in the second game. India scored 289 runs thanks to half-centuries from Sunil Gavaskar and Dilip Vengsarkar. 

The following World Cup matchup between these two sides took place in 1992. Australia chose to bat first after winning the toss. David Boon’s 90-run innings helped the Australian scoreboard reach 237 runs after 50 overs. 

India’s chase got off to a rough start as they lost wickets quickly. Rain forced a break in play during the 17th over. India’s goal was changed to 236 runs off 47 overs after the rain stopped. India had to accept a painful loss by one run after Md. Azharuddin was dismissed in the 43rd over. The final five wickets fell in the space of 40 runs. Australia gained the upper hand in the overall series against India with this victory.

For the 1996 World Cup, both teams were in Group A. On February 27, they squared off at the Wankhede stadium. Australia chose to bat first after winning the toss. They scored 258 runs thanks to Mark Waugh’s outstanding century. India had lost two wickets at a cost of 7 runs while chasing. 

Tendulkar and Azharuddin partnership stabilised the innings. Sanjay Manjrekar and Nayan Mongia helped India pass 200 after they both left. However, when these two were struck out, the Indian batting line-up broke down, and the team was eventually shut down for 242 runs.

The 2003 World Cup was a turning point in the rivalry between India and Australia. In the competition, the two teams clashed twice. Both of them were unblemished throughout the competition up until their first encounter. 

Indian chose to bat first after winning the toss. The choice wasn’t wise since the Indian batting crumbled in front of Brett Lee and Jason Gillespie like a house of cards. They were dismissed for just 125 runs. 

With 9 wickets still available, the Kangaroos easily chased down the score. In the World Cup final, they next encountered each other. India chose to field first after winning the toss. Australia got off to a fast start, scoring 105 runs in just 14 overs thanks to their openers. 

The 2011 World Cup quarterfinal matchup between these two teams was their next matchup. Australia chose to bat first after winning the toss. The Australians’ 260 runs were made possible by Ricky Ponting’s century. With five wickets in hand, Yuvraj Singh’s all-around performance enabled India to win the game. In the end, India took home the World Cup trophy.

India vs. Australia’s matchup in the next World Cup’s semi finals saw the hosts Australia easily defeat India to set up a trans-Tasmanian final. They batted first after winning the toss and scored 328 runs, the greatest total in a World Cup semifinal. The Indian batting struggled to maintain consistency as they attempted to reach their second straight World Cup final.

The teams squared off against one another for the 12th time in World Cup competition in 2019. India chose to bat first after winning the toss. Indian hitters targeted Adam Zampa and Marcus Stoinis, scoring 113 runs off of their combined 13 overs of bowling. 

The 352 runs India scored with Shikar Dhawan’s century were the most ever given up by Australia in a World Cup game. Australia’s pursuit got off to a sluggish start. They were bowled out for 316 after losing three wickets in the span of two overs shortly before the third power play began.

Current Strength of India

  • Rohit Sharma (Captain)
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Virat Kohli
  • Shubman Gill
  • Shreyas Iyer
  • KL Rahul
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Suryakumar Yadav
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Axar Patel
  • Jasprit Bhumra
  • Mohammad Siraj
  • Arshdeep Singh
  • Parsidh Karishna
  • Yuzvandera Chahal

Current Strength of Australia

  • Aaron Finch (Captain)
  •  Ashton Agar
  •  Pat Cummins
  •  Tim David
  •  Cameron Green
  •  Josh Hazlewood
  •  Mitchell Marsh
  •  Glenn Maxwell
  •  Kane Richardson
  •  Steven Smith
  •  Mitchell Starc
  •  Marcus Stoinis
  •  Matthew Wade
  •  David Warner
  •  Adam Zampa

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *