Overlooked Pakistani Players: ICC Men's Twenty20 International Team of the Year 2023 Brings Up Issues

Overlooked Pakistani Players: ICC Men’s Twenty20 International Team of the Year 2023 Brings Up Issues. The International Cricket Council (ICC) Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2023 was unexpectedly revealed, and Pakistani cricket fans were shocked to see that not a single player from their nation made the roster.

Leading the way is Suryakumar Yadav, the 2022 ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year, who is joined by a group of international players who have made a name for themselves in the T20 format this year.

Yashasvi Jaiswal, an Indian opener who debuted in August 2023, made his mark with an astounding 430 runs in 14 innings at a strike rate of 159, earning a spot on the coveted list. England’s Phil Salt, who finished the year with 394 runs in just eight innings, took the top slot beside him.

Nicholas Pooran of the West Indies took third place, with captain Suryakumar Yadav coming in at number four. Yadav scored two century the year before while leading the team without regular captain Rohit Sharma.

Mark Chapman, the run machine from New Zealand, finished in fifth place with 576 runs at a remarkable strike rate of 141.87 and an average of 44.30. Sikandar Raza of Zimbabwe took sixth place, demonstrating his year-round excellence.

Also Read

Disappointed, Sarfaraz Ahmed departs Pakistan

The team also included all-rounders Mark Adair of Ireland and Alpesh Ramjani of Uganda at positions seven and eight, respectively. Adair took 26 wickets at an economy rate, while Ramjani, who topped the globe in T20I wickets for the year, proved to be a pain in the side for opposing bowling attacks.

Arshdeep Singh, an Indian pacer, Richard Ngarava of Zimbabwe, and Ravi Bishnoi of India complete the bowling attack. The strong bowling lineup is completed by Arshdeep, who has 26 wickets in 21 innings, and Bishnoi, who has 18 wickets.

Cricket fans have been debating the selection procedure and criteria that resulted in Pakistan’s unexpected exclusion because the country is not represented.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *