Three Key Players are Under Scrutiny as Sri Lanka Has Announced Their 15-member Squad for ICC Men’s World Cup 2023

After a long wait, Sri Lanka has finally announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC World Cup 2023 in India. The delay was there for a valid reason, as their key players, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, and Dilshan Madushanka, got injured just before the ICC Mega event. These players are under scrutiny and likely to miss the World Cup. But their selection is subject. If they pass the fitness test, they will be the ultimate selection. 

The presence of these key players is very important for Sri Lankan survival in the tournament. Hasaranga is a world-class spinner who can destroy any batting with his lethal bowling. He is a mystery bowler, and Indian conditions will suit him. He is a real asset to his team, and his presence in the team will boost the morale of the players and fans.

The other mystery Maheesh Theekshana got injured in the match against Pakistan. However, he bowled his full quota of overs but left the field soon after he finished. He is also under scrutiny and will be selected if declared fit by the management.

The 23-year old Dilshan Madushanka is another suspect that will under the radar of fitness gurus of the Sri Lankan team. He also got injured a few months before the mega event and his retreat to the national for the World Cup 2023 is also subjected to fitness. 

These are the players that Sri Lanka will be waiting to have in their final eleven. Their enclosure in the squad is almost impossible, at least all of them. But Sri Lanka will definitely go with half-fit Wanindu Hasaranga. Dunith Wellalage has made his way into the final 15 due to his dominating performance in the Asia Cup 2023. 

Here is the Sri Lanka 15-Member for the ICC World Cup 2023 Edition

Dasun Shanaka (c), Kusal Mendis (vc), Kusal Perera, Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dushan Hemantha, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana, Lahiru Kumara, Dilshan Madushanka

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *