Who would take over as Pakistani captain if Babar Azam is fired?

Who would take over as Pakistani captain if Babar Azam is fired? Pakistan’s captain, Babar Azam, is under a lot of strain following their run of losses in the 2023 ICC World Cup. Pakistan’s prospects of making it to the semifinals are in risk after three straight losses, which has infuriated the nation’s supporters and media. Many, including supporters and former cricket players, are calling for Captain Babar Azam’s head.

There are several reasons for Pakistan’s poor performance, but one of the main ones is thought to be Babar Azam’s lack of leadership ability as a captain. It appears that Babar’s time as captain may be coming to an end.

After Pakistan’s national cricket team returns from the World Cup in India, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan, and Shaheen Shah Afridi are being mentioned as potential successors to current captain Babar Azam. They want to get ready for the 2024 T20 World Cup, 2025 ICC Champions Trophy, and their impending trip to Australia.

Pakistan still has four league matches left in the World Cup and is still in the running to make it to the semi-finals, even though they have lost their last three games, including their encounter against Afghanistan. 

A Pakistani outlet quoted a source close to Pakistan cricket as saying, “Only if Pakistan can stage a miracle and win all their remaining matches to qualify for the semi-finals of this World Cup does Babar stand any chance of surviving as captain and even then he might be relegated to skipper in just the red ball format.” According to reports, if Pakistan gets eliminated from the semifinals, Babar may announce his resignation from the team. The environment has apparently become that toxic.

“They are very bright chances that Pakistan will have a new coaching staff and captain when they embark on the Test tour of Australia and for the white ball series in New Zealand after the WC,” said the insider.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *