Islamabad United defeated Multan Sultans to win the PSL for the third time in history

Islamabad United defeated Multan Sultans to win the PSL for the third time in history. 

In an exciting final at the National Bank Stadium in Karachi, Islamabad United defeated Multan Sultan to win their third Pakistan Super League (PSL) championship. Islamabad, led by Shadab Khan, emerged victorious in the thrilling game, continuing their winning run from 2016 and 2018, making them the most successful team in PSL history.

The thrilling encounter ended in the final ball, with Islamabad needing runs to win. Young Hunainshah showed steely nerves as he expertly found the gap at one point, smashing the ball for a boundary to give his team the win.

Also Read

Shadab Khan is “not happy” about how the audience treated Imad Wasim in PSL 9

Islamabad’s innings got off to a rocky start, losing three wickets in the powerplay to reach 55-3. However, Martin Guptill and Azam Khan steadied the ship with a key partnership of 47, which saw their team back in contention. While Guptill departed for a brisk 50 off 32 balls, Imad Waseem and Naseem Shah contributed immensely with 19 and 17 runs respectively after Azam was dismissed.

Multan Sultans faced the first hurdle in the first innings when Islamabad’s Naseem Shah dismissed Mohammad Rizwan, and the wicket was removed on a no-ball but Imad Wasim scored quickly to remove Yasir Khan and David Willey in a falling over so in the second half.

Despite losing key wickets, Multan showed resilience as Rizwan and Usman Khan shared a crucial partnership of 53 runs. Usman going after an excellent 57 off 40 balls put the momentum in Islamabad’s favor. Multan posted a competitive total despite the late-order heroics of Iftikhar Ahmed, who smashed 32 off 20 balls.

In the bowling department, Imad Waseem won for Islamabad, taking five wickets and becoming the first player to achieve this feat in a PSL final while skipper Shadab Khan also impressed with three wickets, while Naseem Shah and Hunain Shah continued were without wickets.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *